2018 Annual Meeting

07/05/2018 - This year’s hard-working Annual Meeting Committee, chaired by Bar member Holly R. Rao, with the assistance of Vice Chair Krista J. Schmitz, produced a diverse and enriching program. Supporting this effort, many Bar members and the Bar staff worked with the Committee to ensure a seamless presentation of workshops and social events. As a result, the Annual Meeting provided over 1,500 attendees with a diverse range of interesting and informative seminars over the two days. The Meeting offered Bar members outstanding opportunities to learn, to improve their practice, recognize and honor Bar award winners, socialize with colleagues, and fulfill annual CLE requirements.

New 2018-2019 Rhode Island Bar Association President Carolyn R. Barone was sworn-in by Rhode Island Supreme Court Chief Justice Paul A. Suttell.

Before a full ballroom of enthralled Bar members, Thursday Plenary Speaker Dean Strang, of the Netflix documentary Making a Murderer, discussed how poverty affects the justice system.

Outgoing President Linda Rekas Sloan, Esq. welcomed attendees Thursday morning, and thanked the members of the Bar for their support during her presidency.

The distinguished panelists (l-r) Lara E. Montecalvo, Esq., Thomas M. Dickinson, Esq., Camille Capraro, Hon. Francis J. Darigan, Jr. (ret.), Hon. Francis X. Flaherty , Hon. Sandra A. Lanni, Lauren E. Jones, Esq., Hon. Sarah Taft-Carter, and gave attendees updates on both civil and criminal case law.

Dr. Peter Kramer discussed his most recent book, Ordinarily Well: The Case for Anti-Depressants, and why lawyers suffer from depression many times the rate of the general population in his session Depression, Stigma and Lawyer Wellbeing.

Rhode Island Supreme Court Chief Justice Paul A. Suttell delivered his annual report on the Judiciary at the Friday Annual Luncheon.

Incoming Bar President Carolyn R. Barone entertained the crowd and outgoing President Linda Rekas Sloan as she accepted the President’s Gavel at the Friday Annual Luncheon.

Florence K. Murray Award winner Dennis J. Roberts II surrounded by four of the women judges who nominated him for the Award: (l to r) RI District Court Associate Judge Madeline Quirk, RI Superior Court Associate Justice Susan E. McGuirl, RI Supreme Court Associate Justice Maureen McKenna Goldberg, and RI Family Court Associate Justice Laureen Q. D’Ambra.

Panelists Lauren E. Jones, Esq., Peter Panciocco, Rhiannon S. Huffman, Esq., Gail M. Valuk, Esq., Hon. Jeffrey A. Lanphear, and Michael M. Goldberg, Esq. discussed the status of the electronic filing system and future developments during their workshop State Court E-Filing: Where Are We and Where Are We Going?

Chris Osborn, Esq. closed out the Annual Meeting on Friday afternoon with his session, Don’t Let the Jokers Drive You Batty, which used clips from Batman Begins and The Dark Knight to explore the impact of challenging professional relationships.